9.11.01

I stepped into the front doors of Jefferson Middle School on this day ten years ago eager to start the school day. I met some friends in the cafeteria to chat where we noticed the tv’s were all turned on. Some building was on fire but we were pretty confused as to what was going on. 

I got into Mrs. Hankins’ homeroom classroom to find the tv on featuring the same fire. JD came up to me and said that one of the World Trade Centers was on fire not knowing what really happened. We sat and starred at the tv as students began to flood into the classroom. And then, before my eyes-I saw a plane out of no where fly into the second tower. I will never forget how I felt. I was shocked, speechless, and so scared. I had never seen anything so horrific in my entire 12 years of living. Everyone started to panic a bit when suddenly the first bell rang for the end of homeroom.

I can’t quite recall how the rest of the day unfolded. I was in such a daze. The school let every teacher show the news in class as we all just tried getting through the day. Teachers didn’t assign any work-we just sat in class and watched the news. Students were getting checked out one by one.  

I remember the car ride home with my mother. She asked if I had seen anything and I said yes. We briefly talked about it and I couldn’t help but ask why-why would someone do such a thing to some many people?

We got home and I saw my father. He was quiet but I could tell he was angry. He just sat at the dinning room table asking why. He was never one to show emotion and that day he did.

I was 12.

Today I am 22.

It’s been 10 years today since the attacks. It still feels unreal. Seeing the images and footage from that day still makes me numb. I remember it like it was yesterday. I will never forget. Since that day our country went to war on terrorism, it began to rebuild the Freedom Towers and the memorial, but we also killed than man who was to blame for 9/11/01. Our pride was rocked that day. Many men and women were lost. It was the worst tragedy since Pearl Harbor.

The one thing that resinates with me is the way our country has bounced back. Since 9/11/01 our patriotism has grown stronger and our pride has been restored. I am so thankful to be living in a country so strong. God Bless America. 

Leave a Reply

