Learning to Finally Fly.

When I first started this blog, I coined it my “learning to fly” blog. I was in college and preparing for my entrance into the real world. Five years worth of preparation and I reached my goal. You prepare during college for the “day” when you officially become an adult. You finish all of your classes required for your degree all for one day. Then the day comes when you walk across the stage and it’s done. Over. Finished in the blink of an eye.

I’ve been experiencing a bit of what I would like to call “post grad depression.”  The period of time after graduation where one must figure out what to do now. It’s like being thrown out of a plane without your parachute. I’m really learning to fly now. I’m almost certain many college graduates go through the same period. You have a planned process of schooling to go through for so many years that when you’re done, you’re lost. You struggle to find your place or even figure out what you want to be when you grow up. But the truth is no one knows those answers. My 50-something year old father still doesn’t know what he wants to be when he grows up and he had 30 years to figure it out. But do you ever really figure it out?

During this period of my life, I won’t let myself crash and burn. The feeling of being lost can be exhilarating it’s just going to take some time adjusting.  In the meanwhile, I will continue to write and photograph. I won’t give up my desire to fly. I will dust the wings off and take to the skies. It may take years but I’m ready.

I am leaving you with this quote from Pink Floyd’s song Learning To Fly:

A soul in tension that’s learning to fly 
Condition: grounded  but determined to try 
Can’t keep my eyes from the circling skies 
Tongue-tied and twisted; just an earth-bound misfit, I

Leave a Reply

